Climate Action Plan

Framingham State University Sustainability Committee

The mission of the Sustainability Committee at Framingham State University is to advance a shared sense of responsibility towards the social, economic, and environmental well being of our campus, our community, and our world. The committee seeks to develop a campus-wide ethic of sustainability in order to educate our community and lead by example.

The committee understands that sustainability is not a goal but a process, and intends to learn from the successes and mistakes of the past to create a more sustainable society where people live productive, dignified lives and are stewards of their communities and their natural environment.

The Committee seeks to advance this mission by:

  • Advancing sustainability in University operations, academics, and campus life.
  • Supporting the exploration of complex issues and the development of strategies to achieve sustainable solutions.
  • Fostering collaboration between the University, the local community, and the world at large to promote a greater understanding of sustainability.
  • Cultivating affection for our campus through a shared appreciation of its beauty, history, and stewardship.

The Committee also accepts and reviews proposals for sustainability projects from all members of the campus, and will provide limited financial support (when needed) for those approved for implementation.

Committee Members:

Carl Hakansson; Associate Professor Geography, University Sustainability Coordinator

Dale Hamel, Senior Vice President of Administration, Finance, and Technology

H. Warren Fairbanks, Associate Vice President of Facilities and Capital Planning

Maureen Bagge Fowler, Assistant Director of Facilities for Environment, Health and Safety

Robert Tatro, Assistant Director of Facilities and Chief Power Plant Engineer