About Us

The Center for Excellence in Learning, Teaching, Scholarship and Service (CELTSS) provides professional development support for faculty and librarians at all stages of their careers.

Developed and sustained by faculty and librarians, CELTSS enriches the University community, providing support and guidance in a number of ways, from developing focused workshops and mentoring programs, to providing individual and group research awards, to generating thought-provoking events that foster and showcase faculty engagement with a wide range of topics.

CELTSS is designed to be a reflexive and collaborative resource: participants and award recipients are encouraged to pursue their interests and share their experiences with the University community through practica and collaborative events. Offering a range of dynamic activities and events, as well as grant opportunities, CELTSS promotes and helps sustain the faculty's commitment to multiple forms of academic excellence.

CELTSS was established in October 2007. It provides support for faculty members during all phases of their careers at Framingham State University. A mentoring program for first- and second-year faculty facilitates their transition to Framingham State. CELTSS funding supports scholarly and creative projects undertaken by faculty members. The Center holds events to discuss pedagogical issues and approaches, to showcase faculty research completed with CELTSS funding, and to honor individual faculty for their achievements. Other CELTSS events include faculty workshops, reading groups, and a day for students to display their accomplishments.

CELTSS is a faculty-run organization with a steering committee of volunteers from across the disciplines assisting the directors. The first CELTSS Co-Directors were Bridgett Perry-Galvin, Professor of Psychology, and Elaine Beilin, Professor of English. Patricia Luoto, Professor of Consumer Sciences, subsequently served as a Co-Director. From 2012-2015, Karen Druffel, Professor of Business, served as Director and Claudia Springer, Professor of English, served as Assistant Director. From 2015-2018, Elaine Beilin, Professor of English, served as Director and Jon Huibregtse, Professor of History, served as Assistant Director. During the Spring 2020 semester, Lina Rincón served as interim Director and May Hara served as Interim Assistant Director. 

AY 2018-2021 Directors:

Jon Huibregtse, Director

Professor of History- 508.626.4823

Lina Rincón, Assistant Director

Professor of Sociology- 508.626.5717

Mirari Elcoro, Director of Mentoring

Professor of Psychology and Philosophy - 508.215.5796